Next Concert

7:30 pm
1st April
Movements from 
Idomeneo Ballet Music 

Symphony No.99 

Symphony No.4 (Italian) 

The Parish Church of All Saints

Church Hill / Bark Hart Road
Orpington, Kent

Tickets £10
(children & students £5)
at the door, in advance
from Malcolm Tysoe
Church Road, Farnborough,
or telephone 020 8851 4502

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto featuring soloist Haru Ushigusa

Concert: 7.30pm Saturday December 3rd, 2016

Our next concert will present Beethoven's Egmont Overture and Symphony no.3 (Eroica) and Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto with soloist Haru Ushigusa.

Haru Ushigusa studied with Jyunko Isono in Japan, and with Tomotada Soh at the Royal Academy of Music on London where she was supported by a Rohm Music Foundation scholarship. After winning several prizes, she graduated from the Academy in 2013 with distinction. She has taken part in master classes by Maxim Vengerov, Tomas Brandis, and Koichirou. Haru performs regularly in UK and Japan as a soloist and in chamber music. Most recently, concert and recital venues have included, Burgh House, Hampstead; The Bösendorfer Harmony Tower, Tokyo; the Art Tower, Mito; the Palty Hall, Hitachiota City; and the Tokai Art Cultural Centre, Japan. 

Haru was a semi-finalist in the 2012 International Brahms Competition in Austria 2012, and in the Sendai International Music Competition in 2013, when she also performed concertos by Mozart and Bartok with the Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra at the Sendai Youth Cultural Centre. She made her professional debut at Kioi Hall, Tokyo, as the highest achiever of the Toho Gakuen Music Hight School. Haru has been a member of the Dulcinea Quartet since since 2008. The quartet, which gives regular recitals in the UK, toured Japan Tour in 2014 and 2015, and has recently been invited to perform in Tokyo, Yokohama, Shiga, Ibaraki, and Aomori.


Tchaikovsky, Lehar and John Williams

Concert: 7.30pm Saturday June 18th, 2016

With a mixture of very different styles, this concert should have something for everyone. From the light hearted Merry Widow prelude and ballet to the rich symphonic movements of John Williams' Star Wars, the concert will end with the iconic Tchaikovsky's 5th Symphony


A programme to celebrate the bicentenary of the English composer, William Sterndale Bennett

Concert: 7.30pm Saturday March 5th, 2016

This concert celebrates bicentenary of the birth of the composer, pianist, conductor, and influential music educator, William Sterndale Bennett. Born in Sheffield on 13th April 1816, and brought up by his grandfather after he was orphaned at the age of 3, Bennett was a child prodigy as a singer, violinist and pianist. He won a scholarship to the Royal Academy of Music at the age of 10. 

Bennett was appointed Principal of the Royal Academy of Music in 1866 when the institution was faced with the threat of closure, and he managed to revive its fortunes and save it from extinction. Bennett was revered as a teacher: his pupils included Parry and Arthur Sullivan. He also sought to improve opportunities for female students whom he regarded as being marginalised. 

William Sterndale Bennett's compositions, largely orchestral works, piano concertos, and music for solo piano, enjoyed wide popularity in England and Germany. In 1849 he conducted the first English performance of Bach's Matthew Passion, and in 1856 was elected professor of music at Cambridge University. In 1871 Bennett was among the first to receive the Philharmonic Society's Gold medal, and was knighted in the same year. He died at his home in St John's Wood on 1st February 1875 and was buried in Westminster Abbey. At the time of his death he was recognised...